Jimmie Johnson won his sixth Sprint Cup Series championship in eight years at Homestead-Miami Speedway, as Denny Hamlin held off Matt Kenseth and Dale Earnhardt Jr. to win the Ford EcoBoost 400 on Sunday.

Johnson needed only to finish 23rd or better to clinch the 2013 NASCAR title, but he managed to place ninth and edge out Kenseth for the championship by 19 points. Johnson's sixth title left him trailing just Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt Sr., each of whom won seven career NASCAR championships.

Hamlin won a race on NASCAR's premiere circuit for the eighth consecutive year, though he waited till the season's final day to claim a victory in 2013. Kenseth, Earnhardt Jr, Martin Truex Jr. and Clint Bowyer rounded out the top five on Sunday.

Johnson and Kenseth were followed by Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch and Earnhardt Jr. in the season's final points standings.

More From Kool AM