The 2016 ACM Awards winners list was starting to look like the 2016 CMA Awards, until the very end. Chris Stapleton and Little Big Town led the way in total wins, but the big award went to an Entertainer of the Year first-timer.

"I was starting to think this wasn't in the cards for me," Jason Aldean said as he accepted the night's biggest prize. It was his only win, and his first ever Entertainer of the Year win. Stapleton took Male Vocalist of the Year, Album and Song of the Year. Miranda Lambert won the night's other big award, Female Vocalist of the Year.

The winners in top categories were announced during a live broadcast from Las Vegas on Sunday night (April 3), during a ceremony hosted by returning host Luke Bryan and his new co-host, Dierks Bentley. Little Big Town took Vocal Group and Vocal Event of the Year (with Lambert). Thomas Rhett won Single of the Year for "Die a Happy Man."

Check out the full list of winners at the 2016 ACM Awards below.

2016 Academy of Country Music Awards Winners:

Entertainer of the Year

Jason Aldean — WINNER! 
Garth Brooks
Luke Bryan
Miranda Lambert
Eric Church

Male Vocalist of the Year

Jason Aldean
Eric Church
Brett Eldredge
Chris Stapleton — WINNER!
Dierks Bentley

Female Vocalist of the Year

Kelsea Ballerini
Jana Kramer
Miranda Lambert — WINNER!
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Vocal Duo of the Year

Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line — WINNER!
Maddie + Tae
Joey + Rory

Vocal Group of the Year

Eli Young Band
Little Big Town — WINNER!
Rascal Flatts
Old Dominion
Zac Brown Band

Album of the Year

Eric Church, Mr. Misunderstood
Sam Hunt, Montevallo
Thomas Rhett, Tangled Up
Chris Young, I'm Comin' Over
Chris Stapleton, Traveller — WINNER!

New Male Vocalist of the Year

Brett Eldredge
Chris Janson
Thomas Rhett
Chase Rice
Chris Stapleton — WINNER!

New Female Vocalist of the Year

Kelsea Ballerini — WINNER!
Mickey Guyton

New Vocal Duo or Group of the Year

A Thousand Horses
Brothers Osborne
Maddie & Tae
Old Dominion — WINNER!

Single Record of the Year

"Burning House," Cam
"Buy Me a Boat," Chris Janson
"Die a Happy Man," Thomas Rhett - WINNER!
"Girl Crush," Little Big Town
"I'm Comin' Over," Chris Young
"Take Your Time," Sam Hunt

Video of the Year

"Biscuits," Kacey Musgraves
"Burning House," Cam
"Girl Crush," Little Big Town
"Mr. Misunderstood," Eric Church — WINNER!
"Riser," Dierks Bentley

Song of the Year

"Burning House," Cam
"Girl Crush," Little Big Town
"Nobody to Blame," Chris Stapleton — WINNER!
"Raise 'Em Up," Keith Urban feat. Eric Church
"She Don't Love You," Eric Paslay

Vocal Event of the Year

"Hangover Tonight," Gary Allan (Feat. Chris Stapleton)
"Home Alone Tonight," Luke Bryan (Feat. Karen Fairchild)
"Raise 'Em Up," Keith Urban (Feat. Eric Church)
"Smokin' and Drinkin'," Miranda Lambert (Feat. Little Big Town) — WINNER!
"Wild Child," Kenny Chesney (Feat. Grace Potter)

Songwriter of the Year

Rodney Clawson
Ross Copperman — WINNER!
Ashley Gorley
Shane McAnally
Josh Osborne

Special Awards Categories

ACM Lifting Lives Gary Haber Award: Carrie Underwood
Career Achievement Award: Glen Campbell
Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award: Crystal Gayle, Tanya Tucker, the Statler Brothers
Crystal Milestone Award: Little Big Town
Jim Reeves International Award: Jeff Walker
Mae Boren Axton Award: Keith Urban
Poet's Award: Eddie Rabbitt, Jimmy Webb
Tex Ritter Award: Dolly Parton's Coat of Many Colors

Studio Recording Awards

Bass Player of the Year: Michael Rhodes
Drummer of the Year: Shannon Forrest
Guitar Player of the Year: Derek Wells
Piano/Keyboards Player of the Year: Jim ‘Moose’ Brown
Specialty Instrumen(s) Player of the Year: Danny Rader
Steel Guitar Player of the Year: Paul Franklin
Audio Enginner of the Year: Justin Niebank
Producer of the Year: Dave Cobb

Look! The Hottest Looks From the ACM Red Carpet

Everything You Need to Know About the 2016 ACM Awards

More From Kool AM