This seems like it should be a part of some bad horror movie, but it's true.

Teenagers in at least one Virginia town could face jail sentences of up to six months if they go trick or treating this Halloween.

According to information from HRScene, a news site covering the Hampton Roads, Virginia area, trick-or-treating in the city of Chesapeake, Virginia is limited to kids up to 12 years old only from 6-8 p.m.

According to the city code:

If any person over the age of 12 years shall engage in the activity commonly known as “trick or treat” or any other activity of similar character or nature under any name whatsoever, he or she shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than six months or both.

(b) If any person shall engage in the activity commonly known as “trick or treat” or any other activity of similar character or nature under any name whatsoever after 8:00 p.m., he or she shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $10.00 nor more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than 30 days or both.

To be fair, the city police say on their website that they will not be out checking IDs.

Chesapeake Police staff will focus on making sure the evening is safe for everyone, not actively seeking out violations of the time or age limits. For example, a thirteen year old safely trick or treating with a younger sibling is not going to have any issues. That same child taking pumpkins from porches and smashing them in the street more likely will.